Notice for graduating students: Consider these things before your user account expires
When all your studies at Metropolia end, your user account will expire two weeks after the completion of your studies. The exception, of course, is if you have obtained a job at Metropolia. In that case, your user account will continue automatically.
The expiration of your user account means that you will no longer be able to use any services that you have logged into with your Metropolia user account. This includes both internal services at Metropolia and cloud services. Additionally, the license for the Microsoft Office 365 desktop application installed through Metropolia will no longer be valid. Office 365 will not work on your computer unless you acquire a new license from elsewhere.
Theseus and study achievements
Although you can still log in to systems with your account for two weeks after the official end date of your study right, the systems will no longer recognize you as a Metropolia student during the additional two-week period. If you want to view, for example, your study achievements after the end of your study right, you will no longer see them in OMA. Instead, you can view them in the nationwide Opintopolku service at https://opintopolku.fi.
It is only possible to submit theses to Theseus while your study right is still valid. After graduation, even with the two-week extension of your account, it is no longer possible in any way because Theseus will no longer recognize you as a Metropolia student.
Saving email messages
Save a copy of the email messages you need, including their attachments. You can do this by forwarding the email messages to another email address or by following these instructions: https://wiki.metropolia.fi/pages/viewpage.action?pageId=139003193.
Registration for personal services with Metropolia email address: It is not advisable to use your Metropolia email address for any services (e.g., LinkedIn, various online stores, and social media) that you intend to use after your graduation as well. However, if you have done so, make sure to check, before your graduation at the latest, to which services you have registered using your Metropolia email address. Change your email address for those services to an address that will never expire. If you have any questions about this, please contact the technical support of the respective service. Changing your email address may be too late after graduation since confirmation messages regarding email address changes often go to the previous email address.
Save the files you want to keep as a memory of Metropolia or that you anticipate needing from your Z-drive and cloud services. Remember that it is advisable to keep important files in at least two locations in the future, such as on your computer's hard drive and an external hard drive.
Removing Metropolia accounts from devices
Remove your Metropolia accounts from your mobile phone and tablet account settings. Check if you have accidentally connected your Windows computer to Metropolia, for example, when installing Office 365 software.
-> Access work or school
-> If you see the Metropolia account, remove it.
Connecting your computer and Metropolia was not intended to be done in the first place. The connection is established if you have checked the box "Allow organization to manage your computer" when installing Office software. Removing the Metropolia account from your computer is important, at the latest, before the expiration of your user account.
"Helpdesk tiedottaa" workspace in OMA
As a member of the workspace
You will receive Helpdesk announcements published on OMA directly to your e-mail.
You will receive up-to-date information about the operation and services of IT Services.
You can discuss and give feedback about the IT Services (discussion section). (We don't accept service requests to the workspace – please contact the Helpdesk only via the contact information mentioned below.)
How to join?
1. Select Workspaces in the menu at the top of OMA
2. Select Search (Join/Leave).
3. In the Text search field, type Helpdesk tiedottaa.
4. Select the Join workspace button on the right side of the "Helpdesk tiedottaa" workspace.
- No labels